In LearningCart, a Product is the item for sale on your site. They can be courses or physical products. Products act like an umbrella that contain one or many courses, and/or physical items like a book or poster. Additionally, when you have a course that has an in-person or virtual event content item, you can specify date(s) and prices for each session. Products can have multiple prices and contain multiple courses.
Your Course is the collection of training items, which we refer to as content items. A course can have one or more content items that are required or optional and sequencing of the items can be enforced. One or many courses can be linked to a Product. You can also link a course to multiple Products, if desired. Consumers gain access to your course through purchasing the parent product through your site.
For a comprehensive walk-through of adding a new course, see Building a Product.
To edit an existing course, select ‘Courses’ from the Training section of the left navigation menu. On the Manage Courses page locate the Course you wish to update and click ‘Edit’.
The Edit Course page is segmented into the four components of a course: course settings, course content, associated products, and course categories.
The following settings were shown when you first set up your course. These settings can be updated at any time. Updated settings will apply to any learner who already has access to the course (unless otherwise noted), as well as any new access granted going forward.
Title: The course title will be visible to your end learner when the course has been granted or purchased.
Course Identifier: Only shown internally and is helpful when pulling reports or managing curriculums.
Complete in Order: When checked, a user will be forced to complete the course in the order the content items are listed.
Show Progress Bar: When checked, a user will be shown a progress bar.
Use Course Player: When the course player is enabled, a table of contents will automatically appear allowing users to navigate through the course without popup windows, or the need to go back and forth from the LMS to the content item.
Certificate: Select the Certificate you would like associated with the course. To setup or modify your certificate(s), see Certificates.
CEUs: Field that can optionally be configured to display on the certificate or reports to track CEU credits.
Course Image: The course image will show to the end user when the training is accessed. Note: If using the Course Player, this image will not show.
Course Level: Field that can optionally be configured to display on the certificate.
Course Location: Field that can optionally be configured to display on the certificate.
Additional Certificate Text: Field that can optionally be configured to display on the certificate.
Sort Order: The order this course should be presented in. If all course sort orders fields are blank, courses will be sorted alphabetically.
Course Administrators: Designated course administrator who will receive signup information, reports, etc.
Badges: Ability to assign a Badge to learner when they complete the course. The badge will show up on their “Badges & Profile” page under their account. To create and manage badges, see Badges. Note: Any course completion prior to a badge being associated to the course will not show to learner.
Schedule Content Availability: Use the following fields to control if your course will become available on a specific date or X days after the user gains access. Leave these fields blank to make the content immediately available.
Number of Days After Enrollment
Course Completion Expiration: Use the following fields to control if completion of your course will expire on a specific date or X months after the user completes the course. Leave these fields blank to make the course completion never expire. You can also add this date via a variable to your course certificate and / or notifications informing the user that their course completion is about to expire.
Number of Months After Completion
Date Added: This field will automatically populate with the date this course was added.
Date Modified: This field will automatically populate with the date this course was last modified.
Course Description: The Course Description is shown below the name of the course. Use this field to provide the learner with general information about what the course will cover.
Course content are the individual components that make up your course. Sometimes referred to as modules, content items can include SCORM modules, PowerPoint presentations, PDFs, and even in-person events.
For a complete list of supported content item types and more information on setting up course content, see Content Items.
To add new Course Content, select the Add New Content button and add the new Course Content. For more information on adding new course content, see Building a Product.
To assign existing Course Content, click ‘Select Existing Content’ and search for the course content you wish to add by clicking the 'select one' drop down and typing the content title. When the desired content is located, will may choose to edit* that item by clicking ‘Edit Item’ prior to adding it to your course. If you wish to add the content item with no changes, click ‘Add to Course’.
*Note: Any edits made to the content item will show in all courses using that content item.
To delete Course Content from the Course, locate the content item and click ‘Remove’. You will receive a confirmation message. Click ‘OK’ to delete the content, click ‘Cancel’ if you do not want to delete the content.
To reorder the Course Content, click on an item and drag into the desired order. This will be the order the learner sees in the course table of contents as well as the order in which the learner must complete the course if you have checked the ‘Complete in Order’ box under course settings.
The ‘Counts Toward Completion’ indicator can be edited for each content item. When this option is set to True, the content must be completed by the learner in order to successfully complete the course. When set to False, the content is optional and will not affect the learner’s completion status. To edit the indicator, click ‘Change’ and check the indicator box to set to True or uncheck the indicator to set to False. Click ‘Update’ to save your changes.
The Associated Products list displays all Products that are associated with this course.
To add the course to an existing product, click ‘Select Existing Product’ and search for the product you wish to add by clicking the 'select one' drop down and typing the product title. When the desired product is located, will may choose to edit* that item by clicking ‘Edit Item’ prior to associating it with your course. If you wish to add the product with no changes, click ‘Add to Course’.
*Note: Any edits made to the product will show in all areas that product is shown.
To add a new product, click ‘Create New Product’. Complete the Product set up and click the Save button. Close the pop-up window. The Product you have created will now display in the Associated Products list.
To remove an associated product, locate the product you wish to remove within the associated products list and click ‘remove’.
Course categories are often used as a way of organizing your course offerings.
To assign a new category, you will need to first create the category under Storefront > Store Categories > Add Category. Change the category type to ‘Course Category’ and enter a name for this category. You will then navigate back to the course you are editing (Training > Courses > (desired course) Edit > Course Categories). When you click the category drop-down, you will see the new category you created and can assign that now.
To assign an existing category / subcategory, click the drop-down next to ‘Category’ / ‘Subcategory’ and select the desired category.
To remove an assigned category, locate the category you wish to remove under ‘Current Course Categories’ and click ‘Delete’.
In LearningCart, a Course can be created with an expiration which can be a specific date or a number of months after completion.
If a user has purchased and completed the course, once the specific date is met or the # of months after completion has elapsed the user will see a message on the My Files page advising them of the expiration and need to renew.
After re-purchase of the same item, the user will see an updated message directing them to click and complete the course again.
Once the user clicks the “Click here to take this course again” link the prior completion information will be archived. The user will see a link to view past completion history.
Clicking the link will allow the user to view prior course completions and access prior Certificates of Completion.